Sally Hansen Wild Life

Hi Everyone :)

I have another Anti-Valentines mani today and I’m going to show you how I did it too. When I posted the Revlon Tanzanite striping tape mani, the lovely Ting asked for a tutorial, so here it is!

I have to mention that I had no power or water yesterday, because of the terrible weather, so the quality of the pictures and the mani itself isn’t great. I decided to still post it because, it still shows how I achieved the look – but please forgive the bubbles and weird lighting :)

First step: I applied base coat. At the moment I’m using Essie Millionails. (It’s really good if you’re thinking about trying a new base coat, I have zero complaints).

210.1 01

 

Then I applied two coats of Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Xtreme Wear in Wild Life. (Again, sorry for the bubbles.)

210.2 01

I then cut off 12 long pieces of striping tape and stuck them to the lid of my topcoat. (Catrice Quick Dry and High Shine Top Coat – a new favourite.) It’s easier to remove the tape if you use long pieces, and easier to handle when applying.

210.3 01

 

This next step is the key to getting the particular pattern I used in the Revlon Tanzanite mani. I used my tweezers to stick one piece of tape from the bottom corner of my nail, to the opposite top corner.

210.4 01

 

Then I added two more pieces, above and parallel to this piece of tape.

210.5 01

 

The next step is to stick a piece of tape to the other bottom corner of the nail and only bring it as far as the very first piece of tape.

210.6 01

 

Then add two more pieces, one either side.

210.7 01

This is the completed pattern. Now all you have to do is paint over it in black (Essie Licorice) and remove the pieces of tape immediately using a tweezers.

Tips: If you slowly pull the tape from one side to the other, you’ll get a cleaner line. Use a thin coat of polish and again, remove immediately. (I didn’t remove immediately because I was taking pictures and that’s why the lines are a bit crooked)

210.8 01

I repeated this on my pinkie and this is how it looks so far.

210.9 01

 

I wanted to cover the pink nails because they bubbled so I decided to make it an Anti-Valentines mani and add a black striped heart and a black glitter heart.

210.15 01

Finally, I want to show you this polish I got in Dealz (the Irish version of Poundland) – it’s called Pretty Metallic Nail Polish and I love it! It does smell awful though.

210.16 01

 

 

What do you think?

Thanks for looking!

-Eleobel

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Wild Life

  1. Pingback: Nails Inc South Kensington & H+M Jo Is In The House | Eleobel's Nails

  2. Thanks you so much. I’m not sure where I can get striping tape over here but I think that I can do the same thing with sellotape cut into thin strips. I’ll see how it goes. :)

    Like

I would love to know what you think. Please leave a comment below :)

