Ciate Candy Cane

Hi :)

I got one of those Ciate Tree Trinkets for Christmas. It’s a lovely little gift. It’s a clear plastic bauble that you can hang on the Christmas tree and it has a mini nail polish inside. It’s made for polish lovers right?

Except that Ciate apparently stole a nail polish blogger’s original idea. Then sold it as their own and sent legal paperwork to the bloggers who created or used the nail idea which ordered them to stop posting said nail idea, because it now belonged to Ciate. You can read more about it here, here and here, if you’re interested in the details. :/

There was a widespread boycott of all Ciate products because of this. I have enjoyed a few free mini polishes that were given away with magazines but I never purchased one because they really went too far.

This all happened long before I was a blogger, and although I have very few original ideas, (damn you Pinterest!), if I did have one then I would be reeeeallly upset to have a huge nail polish company take it and order me to stop doing it! and then make a huge profit off my idea!

So I love my gift and the polish is really pretty but I just can’t purchase any Ciate products. They just went. too. far.

Ciate Candy Cane:

360 Ciate Candy Cane

Thanks for looking!

 

-Eleobel <3

I would love to know what you think. Please leave a comment below :)

