Maybelline (Crystallize) Green Depth and Born Pretty Store Shell Paper

Hi! :D

Maybelline Green Depth is one of the Crystallize nail polishes, which is a collection of liquid sand polishes.

It’s a black polish with green/purple duochrome glass fleck and it is utterly gorgeous.

Maybelline Green Depth (No topcoat)

371-1-maybelline-crystallize-green-depth

If you squint at the bottle, you can see the glass fleck is green in the middle and purple towards the edge. I love this polish!

371-2-maybelline-crystallize-green-depth

However, it’s at this point that I messed the whole thing up!

Now, my original idea was to use this gorgeous Born Pretty Store shell paper over the polish to get irregularly shaped green flashes over a subtle green shimmer background. But this didn’t happen. “Why?”.

My first mistake was trying to stick the smooth plastic shell paper over liquid sand, because of the gritty finish of the polish, the paper couldn’t adhere.

Then I thought I could fix the whole thing by smothering it with topcoat but because the shell paper wasn’t stuck properly, it kept lifting, and the liquid sand polish kept soaking up all the topcoat, so I ended up with a lumpy finish. (Not a good look).

However, I still loved how the shell paper looked! I just made a mistake pairing it with a liquid sand polish. I’m definitely going to try it again and use it with a regular polish. :)

371-3-maybelline-crystallize-green-depth

Have any of you succeeded in creating this type of nail look? Any tips for me? :)

 

Thanks for looking!

 

-Eleobel :)

2 thoughts on “Maybelline (Crystallize) Green Depth and Born Pretty Store Shell Paper

I would love to know what you think. Please leave a comment below :)

